Writing Beth
The Age of Fibs Podcast
I'd like to have permission to be postmodern, but I'm not sure who to ask...
2
0:00
-11:30

I'd like to have permission to be postmodern, but I'm not sure who to ask...

my adventures in copyright and permissions
2

Exploring some challenges I encountered with the publication of my fiction book How to Conceive of a Girl (Vintage/Random House, 1996) regarding how and when and if to seek permission to use short quotes from a range of pop culture and academic sources. When your use of snippets is creative and critical, actively engaging with the cultural ecosystem inhabited by a book’s characters, do we really need (or is it wise) to seek permission? Or is this exchange of ideas what writing is all about? This version was broadcast on ABC Radio National, Books & Writing.

And here’s the text version of this piece —>

Discussion about this podcast

Writing Beth
The Age of Fibs Podcast
This too is an evolving experiment. I'll be adding audio versions of stories and microlit from The Age of Fibs, poems from previous books and new ones, various interviews, and it may also become a place to talk about writing in general, and my current writing project.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Beth Spencer